UNIPORT 4: Court frees seven accused

| March 1, 2013 | 0 Comments

THE Magistrate Court sitting in Port Harcourt has freed seven out of 18 persons allegedly involved in the killing of four students of the University of Port Harcourt.

The discharged persons, one of them a female, regained their freedom on Thursday based on the legal advice by the Director of Public Prosecution.

Those affected are Ekpe Daniel, Cynthia Chinwo, George Nwadei, Gabriel Ochie and Endurance Edet, Lucky Agwurum and Finebone Jeffrey.

Chief Magistrate Emma Woke acquitted the seven persons shortly after reading the legal advice dated January 25, 2013, before the court.

According to the DPP’s advice, those discharged were adjudged to have been arrested based on mere suspicion by the police.

The advice also indicated that no prima facie case of murder was established against the seven persons.

Reading the recommendation of the DPP, Woke said, “It is a trite law that suspicion, no matter how strong, cannot take the place of legal proof without concrete evidence to substantiate it; and as such, they were victims of circumstance. Therefore, charging and prosecuting them will be an exercise in futility.

“Similarly, no prima facie case of murder contrary to Section 319 (1) of the Criminal Code, Cap. 37 Volume 2, Laws of Rivers State, 1999, was disclosed against seven other persons, who were not charged to court, but were granted police bail after their arrest in connection with the matter.

“The charge against them should equally be dropped and they be released forthwith from custody.”

He stated that though the legal advice did not have any case of murder against Alhaji Hassan Welewa, Okoghiroh Endurance, Ozioma Abajuo and Chigozie Evans Samuel, their offence was “neglect to prevent a felony”, contrary to Section 515 of the Criminal Code, Cap. 37, Volume 2, Laws of Rivers State, 1999.

Woke pointed out that Welewa, who is a community leader, and 10 other suspects would face fresh charges by the Department of Public Prosecution.

“Your original case file will be retained to enable us file information with proof of evidence for the avoidance of doubt, against Lawal Segun, Lucky Orji (former police sergeant), Ikechukwu Louis Amadi, David Chinasa Ogbada, Abiodun Yusuf, Joshua Ekpe, Abang Cyril, Alhaji Hassan Welewa, Okoghiroh Endurance, Ozioma Abajuo and Chigozie Evans Samuel in the Port Harcourt High Court,” the magistrate said.


More Stories in News

Eket youths protesting on Wednesday

A’Ibom to dualise Eket-Ibeno Road

Buhari, Tinubu and Onu

APC govs donate N200m to Boko Haram victims

RIVERS State Governor, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi

Security tops Rivers priority – Amaechi

Culled from :Here

We enjoin our readers to send their stories/articles/reports, including pictures to story@riversstatenews.com



Category: News