Ghana: New Parliament Commences

| January 7, 2013 | 0 Comments

Mr Edward Doe Adjaho has been sworn in as the Speaker of the Sixth Parliament of the Fourth Republic by the Chief Justice, Georgina Theodora Wood.

He was sworn in after he was elected by a unanimous decision after being proposed by the majority leader, Dr Benjamin Kumbuor and seconded by the Minority leader, Osei Kyie Mensah-Bonsu.

Mr Adjaho took the Oath of Allegiance and the Speakers Oath, affirming to bear true faith and allegiance to the Republic and people of Ghana as established by Law.

Until his elevation, he was the MP-elect for the Akatsi South Constituency in the Volta region. He has since in accordance with Article 97 of the Constitution vacated that seat.

Mr Adjaho makes history as the first legislative member to be elected Speaker in recent times and prior to his new position, he was the immediate past first Deputy Speaker in the Fifth Parliament.

Mr Adjaho in his acceptance pledged to deepen the democratic principles of the country, live up to the reputation of past speakers and “look forward to serve the House with dignity”.

He thanked the leadership of the House for the great honour done him, his family and constituents, undertaking not to betray the confidence and trust reposed in him but to discharge his duties in accordance to the Constitution and parliamentary rules.

Mr Adjaho exhorted members of the Sixth parliament to stay focused on the business of the House and do so with “unity and discipline.

He charged them to renew their sense of patriotism, nationalism and devotion in the discharge of their responsibilities in order to deepen parliamentary democracy saying “We should strive to uphold the sanctity of parliament”.

Mr Ebo Barton-Odro, MP for Cape Coast North, was elected Fisrt Deputy Speaker while the Esikadu/Ketan MP, Joe Ghartey was elected Second Deputy Speaker.

The 274 members-elect were subsequently sworn in as substantive MPs of their constituencies by taking the Oath of Allegiance and the Oath of Member of Parliament.

Speaker Adjaho suspended sittings for members to attend the swearing-in and investiture of the President-elect John Dramani Mahama at the independence Square.

Culled from :Here

We enjoin our readers to send their stories/articles/reports, including pictures to



Category: Africa News