2013 Nations Cup: Nigeria Debuts 19 Players As Keshi Releases List

| January 10, 2013 | 0 Comments

The highly anticipated Super Eagles’ squad list for the Africa Cup of Nations to be held in South Africa has finally been released and apart from team Captain Joseph Yobo, goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama and Austin Ejide, defender Elderson Echiejile, John Mikel Obi and forward Kalu Uche who were at the 2010 Africa Cup of Nations in Angola, the rest will be making their debut in South Africa.

Six players from the Nigeria Premier League made the list. They are Chigozie Agbim, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Godfrey Oboabona, Gabriel Reuben, Sunday Mba and Ejike Uzoenyi.

Dynamo Kiev striker, Brown Ideye who were not in the list earlier after struggling to impress in training were in the list submitted by the Nigeria Football Federation, Wednesday night.

Surprisingly, Turkey-based midfielder Raheem Lawal, who was on the original list and Bright Dike were left out after both players put up impressive performances in the games they played.

The eagles will depart Faro, Portugal for South Africa on January 16.

Chelsea midfielder Mikel Obi, Joseph Yobo made the final list as expected to the 2013 Africa Nations Cup.

The Eagles in their warm match before the games played a goalless draw with Cape Verde in a friendly match in Faro on Wednesday.

Final list:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheba, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (SC Braga, Portugal); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria).

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Obiora Nwankwo (Calcio Padova, Italy); Fegor Ogude (Valerenga FC, Norway); Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars, Nigeria);

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak Moscow, Russia); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Ikechukwu Uche (Villarreal FC, Spain); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria).

The 2013 Africa Cup of Nations kicks off on January 19. Nigeria will play Burkina Faso, Zambia and Ethiopia in Group C.

The first two games against the Etalons and the Cup holders; Zambia coming up inside Nelspruit’s Mbombela Stadium on 21st January and 25th January respectively.

The clash with Ethiopia’s Walya Antelopes will be at Rustenburg’s Bafokeng Sports Palace on 29th January.

Culled from :Here

We enjoin our readers to send their stories/articles/reports, including pictures to story@riversstatenews.com



Category: Sports